What I left behind

My college mentor and professor is getting ready to retire at the end of this Spring semester and this has drawn up quite a few memories for me.  I have thought about the four years I spent at Concordia University-Texas and all  of the memories tied to that campus.  Some of them are quite good, some of them, well…not so much.

I spent a fair amount of time learning this or that…but I spent a great deal more goofing off, building friendships (one of which led to a marriage to my beautiful wife), and causing a little mischief too.  It has only just hit me recently what I left behind.

When I talk to friends from college, its about the “good ole days” when we used to hang out, or we would go to our friends’ concert (they were in a country band), or what we did to pass the time on a weekend.  Its not very often that we remember the conversations about our faith and belief that we had on countless occasions.  Maybe there were so many that it became a mundane part of our college life- most of us were studying for some form of work in the Church.

But, I realize now how much more important those conversations were than all of the other memories I have from college.  Unfortunately, that’s not what I often left behind in the minds of others.  I can’t go back and change that.  Nor would I ever change anything from my college years except maybe telling my wife I loved her a lot sooner.

As I consider my Family legacy this week, I wonder what people will remember of me now, what will I leave behind.  What will you leave behind?  Will it be good times and funny stories and nothing else?  Or will conversations of our risen Christ show up in the mix too?

Here’s what happened this week…

Family Connection-April 8

What is a Legacy?

For the young adults…

Crossing the River

Leave a comment